To support the development of SMEs, the Government of Malaysia provides a comprehensive set of programmes through various Government Ministries and Agencies, which are broadly categorized into “Financial Assistance” and “Business Support Services” including:

  • Soft loans
  • Grants
  • Equity Financing
  • Venture Capital
  • Loan Guarantee Scheme
  • Tax Incentives (Pioneer Status: 70% – 100% tax free up to 10 years & Investment Tax Allowance)

Government Ministries and Agencies

Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI)

  • SME Corp. Malaysia
  • Bank Perusahaan Kecil & Sederhana Berhad (SME Bank)
  • Malaysia External Trade Development Corporation (MATRADE)
  • Malaysian Industrial Development Authority (MIDA)
  • Malaysian Industrial Development Finance Berhad (MIDF)

Ministry of Finance (MOF)

  • Bank Pembangunan Malaysia Berhad (BPMB)
  • Amanah Ikhtiar Malaysia (AIM)
  • Export-Import Bank Malaysia Berhad (EXIM Bank)
  • Malaysia Debt Ventures Berhad (MDV)
  • Malaysian Venture Capital Management Berhad (MAVCAP)
  • Tabung Ekonomi Kumpulan Usaha Niaga (TEKUN)

Ministry of Agriculture and Agro-based Industry (MOA)

  • Agrobank Malaysia

Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI)

  • Malaysian Biotechnology Corporation Bhd (MBC)
  • Malaysian Technology Development Corporation Sdn Bhd (MTDC)
  • MIMOS Berhad (MIMOS)
  • Multimedia Development Corporation (MDeC)

Ministry of Rural and Regional Development (MRRD)

  • Majlis Amanah Rakyat (MARA)

Ministry of Domestic Trade, Cooperative and Consumerism (MDTCC)

  • Bank Kerjasama Rakyat Malaysia Berhad (BKRMB)
  • Perbadanan Nasional Berhad (PNS)

Ministry of Plantation Industries and Commodities (MPIC)

  • Malaysian Timber Industry Board (MTIB)


  • Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM)
  • Perbadanan Usahawan Nasional Berhad (PUNB)
  • Credit Guarantee Corporation Malaysia Berhad (CGC)
  • Commerce Asset Ventures Sdn. Bhd.
  • Mayban Ventures Sdn. Bhd.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments